Jefferson Healthcare Team of the Quarter


Beginning in 2012 under the direction of Dr. Murphy, Jefferson Healthcare set an aggressive goal of achieving Commission on Cancer Accreditation (CoC). An interdepartmental and multidisciplinary team was assembled to build a cancer program over the next five years. First, the right members of the team were identified through the guidance of the CoC, and then began the recruitment process of those members to participate in a very strict schedule of mandatory committee meetings. This was a huge commitment from every member who already had full schedules. 

Over the next five years, the team devoted countless hours learning how to work together to gain understanding of the stringent requirements necessary to build a comprehensive, quality cancer program. However, the team learned to reach across disciplines to provide outstanding and comprehensive cancer care.  

Attendance and participation at Cancer Committee and Cancer conference is mandatory for CoC Accreditation.  Expectations were set with each committee member to ensure participation. Sometimes an alternate could be appointed (depending on the role in the Cancer Committee), but for many members, 100% participation was an absolute requirement. The members of the team respected each other’s time and fulfilled duties to each other and to the program.

The team also learned how to work effectively together often sharing varying values and viewpoints. Members of the multidisciplinary team learned to share their individual discipline’s philosophies and strategies with each other in a respectful manner, strengthening the team as a whole.

The team had to be passionate about providing exceptional cancer care in our community at Jefferson Healthcare. The passion was evident in the hours and hard work demonstrated by each member of the team. The committee continues to work on constant improvement with the same level of enthusiasm seen in the years leading up to the successful accreditation visit.

The Cancer Conference and Committee demonstrate a high level of professionalism every day – on campus and out in the community. Team members participate in community activities for cancer screening
and prevention which was recognized by our surveyor as commendation worthy. The team also regularly presents on cancer education topics for all providers/nurses/allied health workers, and speaks with community groups about the services available here at Jefferson Healthcare.

Dr. Britell, program surveyor for accreditation, recognized the level of professionalism here by issuing commendations for the extraordinarily high number of oncology nurses who have earned and maintained oncology certification, excellent pathology reporting, and for ensuring Carla Woodward was supported in obtaining certification as a tumor registrar.

When the team first came together, they didn’t really know how to communicate! Over time, they learned how to reach across to other disciplines, how to delegate responsibility, and how to hold team members accountable for completing their assigned tasks. Dr. Britell recognized the effectiveness and teamwork displayed during Cancer Conference when he observed members of the multidisciplinary team coming together to actively and enthusiastically discuss patient treatment plans.

This team has accomplished the task of achieving accreditation with commendations because of perseverance, dedication, passion, and commitment to becoming the best cancer program possible. Jefferson Healthcare is one of only three critical access hospitals in the state to earn this accreditation. Jefferson Healthcare continues to strive to provide the best cancer care for our friends, neighbors, coworkers and community.

Team members include: Drs. Heath Foxlee, Alex His, John Hoyt, Marc Koenig, Dimitri Kuznetsov, Jay Lawrence, Kelly Lloyd, Dick Lynn, Joe Mattern, Ann Murphy, Kurt Norman, Jackie Osland, Gene Robinson, Kathy Anderson, Mary Fortman, Jeinell Harper, Mitzi Hazard, Tina Herschelman, Lisa Holt, John Nowak, Brittany Huntingford, Natalie Irwin, Deb Kaldahl, Rebecca Kimball, Lisa Lawrence, Brandie Manuel, Irene Marble, LuAnn Rogers, Ayla Skipper, Rebecca Strona, Lanny Turay, Karen Turley, Bernie Ward-Crixell and  Carla Woodward.

Back to News Listing